5th Annual Transportation & Infrastructure Convention

5thAnnTransInfraConv.pngAmerica 2050 is pleased to participate as a National Co-Host for the 5th Annual Transportation & Infrastructure Convention on March 7-9, 2012 on Capitol Hill in Washington, DC. Please save the date for this three-day event that has attracted many prestigious registrants and speakers from 25 states, nine countries and over 30 national and international trade associations and interest groups.

The purpose of the Convention is to educate policy makers concerning the current transportation issues at both the local and national levels. The Convention is unique, in that, it brings together the leading transportation and infrastructure officials from the current Administration, Congress, and State legislatures, providing us the opportunity to dialogue personally with those who have a direct influence on future policy decisions of the nation.

Participating as a National Co-Host Organization allows members of America 2050 to register for the Convention at the discounted government rate! Online registration is available now! To register please go to www.transportationsummit.com.

America 2050 is excited to be a part of this event and strongly encourage members of the America 2050 network to attend this event in Washington, DC this March. For further information about the 5th Annual Transportation & Infrastructure Convention, please contact Karen Brown at 214-750-0123 or kbrown@dean.net.

The Convention will feature a number of prominent speakers. Among those already confirmed for the March Convention are John Horsley, Executive Director of AASHTO, as the Master of Ceremonies; Mort Downey, Former U.S. Deputy Secretary of Transportation; Karen Phillips, Vice President of Public and Government Relations, CN; and Paul Priestman, Director of Priestmangoode. Last year's Convention welcomed U.S. Senator Mark Begich, Member, Senate Committee on Commerce, Science & Transportation; U.S. Congresswoman Corrine Brown, Ranking Member, House Transportation & Infrastructure Subcommittee on Railroads, Pipelines, & Hazardous Material; U.S. Congressman Elijah Cummings, Ranking Member, House Transportation & Infrastructure Subcommittee on Coast Guard and Maritime Transportation; U.S. Congressman Thomas Petri, Member, House Transportation & Infrastructure Committee; U.S. Congressman Nick Rahall, Ranking Member of the House Transportation & Infrastructure Committee;Rodney Slater, Former Secretary, U.S. DOT; Rod Diridon, Executive Director, Mineta Transportation Institute and Former Board Member, California High-Speed Rail Authority; Daniel Elliott, Chairman, Surface Transportation Board; Deborah Hersman, Chairman, National Transportation Safety Board; Bill Millar, President, American Public Transportation Association; and Richard Lawless, CEO, U.S.-Japan High Speed Rail.

Following the Convention, the 15th Annual Transportation & Infrastructure Summit, featuring the 5th Annual Global High-Speed Rail Forum, will be held on August 14-17 in Irving, TX. America 2050 is participating as a National Co-Host for this event as well and we will pass along more information about it over the next few months.