15th Annual Transportation & Infrastructure Summit

summit.pngAmerica 2050 is pleased to announce that we are participating as a National Co-Host Organization for the 15th Annual Transportation & Infrastructure Summit, August 14-17 in Irving, TX. The Summit is a four day event that last year brought together over 1,100 attendees from 20 states and 11 countries. The Summit follows an exceptional Transportation & Infrastructure Convention that was held March 7-9, 2012 in Washington, D.C.

The purpose of the Summit is to educate policy makers concerning the current transportation issues that are found at both the local and national levels. The Summit is very unique, in that, it brings together the leading transportation and infrastructure officials from the current Administration, Congress, and State legislatures, providing us the opportunity to dialogue personally with those who have a direct influence on future policy decisions of the nation.

As we have seen our nation's economy decline, our transportation system has suffered from a lack of funding to support the maintenance of aging infrastructure, development of new technology, and necessary projects to accommodate growth and increased usage. It is critical that business and government leaders come together to collaborate on how to best move forward in order to provide our nation with state-of-the-art, safe, and reliable transportation modes. This unique collaboration will include leaders from federal, state, and local governments, engineers, business leaders, representative associations and top transportation research institutions. Together, we can begin to come up with the solutions to our transportation challenges.

The Summit has developed the reputation of bringing in some of the most well-known experts in the Transportation and Infrastructure field. The 2011 Summit featured: U.S. Congressman Ralph Hall, Chairman, Science and Technology Committee; U.S. Congressman John Mica, Chairman, Transportation and Infrastructure Committee; Victor Mendez, Administrator, FHWA; David Strickland, Administrator, NHTSA; Mary Peters, Former Secretary, U.S. DOT; Mort Downey, Former Deputy Secretary, U.S. DOT; Terry Johnson, Administrator, St. Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation; Sean Connaughton, Secretary, VADOT; Jim Simpson, Commissioner, NJDOT; and Rod Diridon, Exec. Director, Mineta Transportation Institute.

Participating as a National Co-Host Organization allows our members to register for the Summit at the discounted government rate! To register please visit the website: www.transportationsummit.com.

We are excited to be a part of this spectacular event and we strongly encourage you to join us in Irving, TX this August. For further information about the Transportation & Infrastructure Summit please contact Karen Brown at 214-750-0123 or kbrown@dean.net, please make sure to say you are with our organization!